sharply dentate

leafy greens and the joy of biting things

black locust flowers & early salmonberries

Leave a comment

This here’s a calendar post, to help me keep track of when I should be looking for which eatable things in the Seattle area.

Today I got around to looking for black locust flowers which were low enough to be reachable. I found some over in northeast Magnolia- slightly closer to the rail line than I’d like, but I was willing to compromise in the interest of a tasty snack. It’s towards the end of their brief season here, but I’m still hoping to get a chance to gather enough for a salad before they’re gone.

I also happened upon some early salmonberries, over by Discovery Park. The first time I tried salmonberries was after I found them in the same area. I didn’t know what they were, but I  could tell they were Rubus relatives, and in my book that’s enough justification to put ’em in my mouth. (I don’t suggest doing that with berries-in-general. Even I am not quite that unwary.)

Leave a comment